About Ozark Biomedical Initiative (OBI)

The OBI will combine leading expertise of technological research and healthcare practices to leverage and share participating institutions’ infrastructures of scholarly activities, clinical experiences, laboratory facilities and technology transfer.  Research and educational activities of this partnership include, but are not limited to, hosting regular symposiums, developing joint academic/clinical programs and sharing staff members' expertise to push the horizon of cutting-edge biomedical advances ranging from biomaterials development, cancer theranostics, stem cell research and bioinstrumentations to healthcare informatics.


Our Mission

The Ozark Biomedical Initiative (OBI), a Missouri S&T - Phelps Health collaborative, provides solutions to current medical and healthcare challenges through innovative biomedical research and education.

our vision

The Ozark Biomedical Initiative (OBI) will perform biomedical research to improve population health and to promulgate and advance scientific and technical research methodologies by combining advanced university research and education with a state-of-the-art medical center.

 Executive Board members

  • Costas Tsatsoulis, Vice Chancellor of Research and Graduate Studies, Missouri S&T
  • Melanie Mormile, CASB Associate Dean for Research, Missouri S&T
  • Angela Lueking, CEC Associate Dean for Research, Missouri S&T
  • Cuba Plain, Interim Vice Chancellor for Finance and Operations, Missouri S&T
  • Ed Clayton, Chief Executive Officer, Phelps Health
  • Jason Shenefield, Senior Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Phelps Health
  • Don James, Senior Vice President for Research and Governmental Affairs, Phelps Health
  • Casey Burton, Director of Medical Research, Phelps Health

Research and Education Council members

  • Michael Burns, Chief Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, Phelps Health
  • Richard Brow, Deputy Provost for Academic Excellence, Missouri S&T
  • Arslan Shaukat, Physician, Cardiology, Phelps Health
  • David Duvernell, Chair, Department of Biological Sciences, Missouri S&T
  • Chris Spencer, Physician, Radiation Oncology, Phelps Health
  • Chang-Soo Kim, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Missouri S&T
  • Sajal Das, Daniel St. Clair Endowed Chair Professor, Computer Science, Missouri S&T
  • William Stoecker, Physician, Dermatology, S&A Technology